The 25km MTB track around St Francis was given a big boost in 2019 by a fundraising drive which has raised over R100 000 per annum over the last 3 years.

This has been utilised solely for track building and upgrading, which has been undertaken by Tyrone Kindness (former owner of Custom Bikes, and now working at the new St Francis Coimbra Cycle Centre) and assisted by Greg West.

Ewan van Vuuren and Morne Knoetze, the management at Coimbra, have embraced the club activities and track building in particular and Morne has joined the club committee.

A substantial portion of the 25km route is on property managed by Foster, and the club’s relationship with Foster has been excellent over the last few years, and their committee member for tracks, Trevor Gascoyne, has joined our committee.

The Kromme Trust have also been helpful in allowing the track to incorporate the Bruce’s coastal section, which has been a big attraction for cyclists.

The focus for the next few months is on track maintenance, eliminating soft spots, trimming vegetation, and improving signage. Later in the year, some new sections are planned.

Morne and Coimbra have kindly taken over the management of the Thursday evening social rides which start at 5pm at Quays. All are very welcome to join these rides.

Greg West and Nevil and Penny Hulettt and others have organised numerous longer weekend rides over the last few years, and these will continue this year.

The Coimbra team plan to reinstate an annual St Francis Bay MTB Challenge which took place successfully from 2009 for a few years, but sadly was discontinued.

The club also plans to assist underprivileged cyclists. A few members have already offered to donate bicycles.

We are fortunate to have Gary Green as a member (and homeowner), founder of the popular Berg&Bush MTB races in northern KZN, and he has been a useful advisor. A new member is Leon Evans, director of the first Cape Epic, who has also offered to assist.

Cyclists are requested to cycle the route, which starts at Coimbra, in a clockwise direction only, and to give right of way to pedestrians at all times … even on dedicated cycle tracks! The map can be obtained at Coimbra.

St Francis Cycling Club Committee:

Nevil Hulett (Chairman), Richard Arderne (Treasurer), Lorraine Maree, Tyrone Kindness, Morne Knoetze (Coimbra), Trevor Gascoyne (Foster), Piero de Marco (joined after the meeting)

Membership is R300 pa: St Francis Cycling Club, Standard Bank, 186519508

(then WhatsApp your name to Richard Arderne, 0832840168)