JINZUN HARBOUR, TAITUNG / TP

E (Thursday, November 28, 2019) – Day 3 of the WSL World Junior Championships has been called on at Jinzun Harbour as part of the 2019 Taiwan Open of Surfing. Taiwan continues to deliver solid surf with waves in the four-foot range accompanied by strong cross-shore winds at Jinzun Harbour. Men’s Round 2 will commence at 7:00 a.m. local time with Men’s Round 3 on standby. Women’s competition is off for the day.


“The expected huge surf and super strong winds haven’t quite arrived at Jinzun Harbour yet and the surf is still looking really fun,” said WSL Event Director Travis Logie. “It’s a pleasant surprise for us this morning so we are going to get underway with men’s Round 2 as soon as possible. We are still expecting conditions to deteriorate later in in the day so we will continue to assess conditions throughout the day and make a call on whether to continue as the wind comes up. For now, there is plenty of opportunity for competitors so we are going to start with Heat 1 of Men’s Round 2.”

Heat 1 of Round 2 will see local’s cheering on their wildcard Sheng Fu Chen (TPE) as he takes on Japan’s Joh Azuchi (JPN).

Kiwi Tane Bowden (NZL) will do battle in his first elimination heat of the World Junior Championships with Tiago Carrique (FRA) in the second heat of the morning.
 
Photos and newsfeeds will be uploaded to the links above throughout the day. A final press release will be distributed following the close of competition with standout performances, athlete quotes and competitive highlights from the day. For a full list of results, please visit the www.worldsurfleauge.com.

The Taiwan Open World Junior Championship runs from November 26 – December 1. For more information and to watch all of the action from the Taiwan Open of Surfing, head to www.worldsurfleauge.com or download the free WSL App.

WSL Junior Championships Men’s Round 2 Matchups
HEAT 1: Joh Azuchi (JPN) vs. Chen Sheng Fu (TPE)
HEAT 2: Tiago Carrique (FRA) vs. Tane Bowden (NZL)
HEAT 3: Luke Slijpen (ZAF) vs. Raul Rios (PER)
HEAT 4: Eli Beukes (ZAF) vs. Monnojo Yahagi (JPN)
HEAT 5: Fernando Junior (BRA) vs. Xavier Huxtable (AUS)
HEAT 6: Luke Thompson (ZAF) vs. Arashi Murata (JPN)
HEAT 7: Robert Grilho (HAW) vs. Dakoda Walters (AUS)
HEAT 8: Cole Alves (HAW) vs. Sage Tutterow (HAW)

Watch Men’s Round Two Action @ 7:00 am CST

(11:00 pm GMT / 8:00 pm BRT / 10:00 am AEDT / 3:00 pm PDT / 1:00 pm HST)