Kouga Municipality - logoKouga Infrastructure & Engineering Portfolio Councillor, Freddy Campher has announced that ESKOM has notified the Kouga municipality that it will be switching off the power to the entire Kouga region on August 14.

This will include Jeffreys Bay, Humansdorp, St Francis Bay, Cape St Francis, Oyster Bay, Hankey, Patensie and Loerie but power to Thornhill and the Gamtoos River Mouth area who receive their power from Nelson Mandela Bay Metro Municipality will not be affected.

The interruption has been scheduled from 05:00 to 18:00.

According to the notification, the interruption is necessary for new installation work and planned maintenance by Eskom.

“We would like to remind residents that all electrical appliances must be treated as live during the down period,” Campher said.

The shutdown is subject to the weather. A new date will be communicated if the work cannot go ahead on the day.