Kommetjie, Cape Town – fearless big wave surfer Matt Bromley has been invited to compete in two big wave contests in Hawaii. Both are first-time invites for Bromley, who has spent the last few years chasing big waves worldwide.

The Quiksilver Jaws Big Wave Challenge

The Quiksilver Jaws Big Wave Challenge, presented by Tudor, has some of the most giant paddle waves in the world and is a terrifying venue for many. Matt has proven himself out there over the last few years. This culminated in his invite to the latest version of the event. Jaws / Pe’ahi is situated on the island of Maui and delivers perfect 60-foot waves in the right conditions.

Cape Town Big Wave Surfer Matt Bromley Invited To Compete In Two Prestigious Big Wave Events

Cape Town Big Wave Surfer Matt Bromley Invited To Compete In Two Prestigious Big Wave Events

The Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational

The Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational is possibly the most prestigious big wave event globally. Also, it is arguably the toughest to get an invite into. Matt has been charging, though, making a name for himself in big wave circles across the globe. So, he was a clear invite into the tournament. This contest takes place at Waimea Bay, on the North Shore of Oahu in Hawaii and is one of the world’s most prominent big wave surf locations.


Getting Invited

“Being invited to The Eddie is just such a privilege and an honour,” said the Monster Energy athlete Bromley when he heard about the invite. “I know guys like Tony Moniz who surfed in this event years ago, and they are absolute heroes to me. Thus, to surf in the same contest as they did, up against Kelly Slater and John John and Kai Lenny, is an absolute honour. I just hope a massive swell comes, and I can get there. Furthermore, when I saw my name on the list, I was just like, ‘no ways, that’s insane.'”

Along with Bromley, Grant ‘Twiggy’ Baker is the three-times big wave world champion from Durban who has been invited into the same two events.


2021-2022 Eddie Invitees

  • Aaron Gold,
  • Andrea Moller,
  • Ben Wilkinson,
  • Billy Kemper,
  • Bruce Irons,
  • Danilo Couto,
  • Eli Olson,
  • Emily Erickson,
  • Ezekiel Lau,
  • Grant Baker,
  • Greg Long,
  • Ian Walsh,
  • Jamie O’Brien,
  • Jamie Mitchell,
  • John John Florence,
  • Justine Dupont,
  • Kai Lenny,
  • Keala Kennelly,
  • Keali’i Mamala,
  • Kelly Slater,
  • Koa Rothman,
  • Kohl Christensen,
  • Landon McNamara,
  • Lucas Chianca,
  • Luke Shepardson,
  • Makani Adric,
  • Makuakai Rothman,
  • Mark Healey
  • Mason Ho,
  • Matt Bromley,
  • Michael Ho,
  • Nathan Florence,
  • Nathan Fletcher,
  • Paige Alms,
  • Peter Mel,
  • Ross Clarke-Jones,
  • Shane Dorian,
  • Taio Shipman,
  • Tikanui Smith
  • Tyler Larronde.