St Francis Bay Bridge Club Charity Tournament

Charity Bridge Day at the St Francis Links

Bridge players came from far and wide to participate in the popular Charity Bridge Day at the St Francis Links on 20th September 2016. Dinks Liebenberg started fund raising for the National Sea Rescue Institute, Station 21, about 20 years ago by organising an annual bridge tournament and the tradition has continued growing in strength and enthusiasm.

Players came from Knysna, Plettenberg Bay, Jeffreys Bay, Port Elizabeth, and even as far afield as Pretoria and enjoyed a really successful, well-run tournament. There were twenty-two tables (four players per table), two of which were set aside for novice players, providing them with the opportunity to experience tournament conditions, which can be rather daunting at first.

The St Francis Links came to the party once again and pulled out all stops to provide the perfect venue and a delicious lunch. Jeff Clause, CEO of the Links, offered an extremely generous prize of 18 holes for a four-ball, including golf carts (worth about R2000). This was auctioned by John Boonzaier and secured by a thrilled Di Klette from Plettenberg Bay.

The club was honoured to have Heidi Atkinson participating. She is the Chief Tournament Director of South Africa, President of the Southern Cape Bridge Union, and is on the board of the South African Bridge Federation. She had this to say of the tournament: “I am impressed by the dedication of the St Francis Bay Committee who provided bridge for both newcomers and experienced players. They work hard and do it with love, always going the extra mile.”

Tournament Directors for the day were well qualified locals Eileen Ellis and Judith O’Hara who were able to participate as well as performing their duties with consummate skill. This enabled Heidi Atkinson and Patrick Verner (TD from Pretoria) to play without officiating, much to their delight.

An additional fund-raising raffle produced R855. The winner was committee member John Boonzaier who immediately donated it to the NSRI.

Geoff Ellis, President of the Bridge Club, expressed his appreciation to the members of the bridge club and the business community of St Francis who so generously gave prizes for the day. Everyone went home with something and a good time was had by all who attended.

The visitors were impressed by the exemplary organisation and Patrick Verner, Tournament Director from Pretoria, commented on the lovely, relaxed and pleasant atmosphere and the outstanding competence of the St Francis Bay committee.

Much to the delight of everyone concerned, a sum of R8 500,00 was raised for NSRI Station 21.

The tournament was played in two sections:

Winners of the Green Section: N/S Una Moolman and Jill Browning (J’Bay), E/W John Boonzaier and Darryl Hendricks (SFB).

Winners if the Maroon Section: N/S Mike Lowe and Bobbie Walker (PE), E/W Wendy Mackenzie and Liz Horne (SFB).

Charity Bridge Day at the St Francis Links

Photo: Winners of the St Francis Bay Bridge Charity Tournament in aid of Station 21 of NSRI (left to right) Liz Horne, Wendy Mackenzie, Mike Lowe, Bobbie Walker, Jill Browning, Una Moolman, Daryl Hendricks and John Boonzaier.

Article & photo Yvonne Bosman

Kirsty McGillivray Produces Standout Performance

Kirsty McGillivray produced the performance of the day

Five more members of the 12-person South African team competing in the VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championships in the Azores advanced to Round 3 of the Main event in their respective divisions after a day of booming surf on Day 4 of the world’s biggest junior surfing event

Wild 1.5-2.5 metre waves, with occasional 3 metre sets, rumbled into the venue at Praia de Monte Verde from the North Atlantic, tested both the endurance and skill of the competitors, with many earning one good score and then struggling to find a second.

In Round 2 of U18 Boys division, Jordy Maree (Kommetjie) won his heat convincingly and Joshe Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay) secured second place in his match-up as the pair advanced to Main Event Round 3. Adin Masencamp (Strand) narrowly missed out, finishing less than point out of second place and he will be joined by Bevan Willis (Salt Rock), who placed fourth in his heat in the Repercharge Round 2 heats today.

Those in Repecharge Round 2 get a final chance to remain in the competition by placing first or second in their heat and advancing back into the Main Event stream. From Round 3 onwards all the surfers finishing third or lower in heats are eliminated from the event.

Max Elkington (Kommetjie) got the team off to great start in Round 2 of the U16 Boys by winning his heat with a dynamic display, and was joined in advancing to Round 3 by Sebastian Williams (Durban) who was runner-up in his encounter. Angelo Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay) struggled yesterday, but will have another opportunity to get back into contention via the Repercharge today, while Koby Oberholzer has yet to contest his Round 2 clash.

Kirsty McGillivray produced the performance of the day for South Africa in her U16 Girls Repercharge Round 2 heat, delivering scores of 6.0 and 5.67 to leave her three opponents in a combination situation. McGillivray joined fellow Jeffreys Bay resident Kai Woolf in Main Event Round 3.

Sophie Bell (Salt Rock) was the only South African casualty on the day, dropping out of the event after finishing fourth in her U18 Girls Repercharge Round 2 heat. Bell and fellow U18 girl Crystal Hulett (Cape St Francis), who was eliminated on Monday, will spend the rest of the event motivating and encouraging their teammates.

Joshe Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay) in action

Pictured: Joshe Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay) in action during his U18 Boys Round 2 heat at the VISSLA ISA World Junior Championships in the Azores. Photo: ISA / Rezendes

As the event approaches the halfway point, the South African team still has 10 team members in contention and is in 13th position among the 38 national teams. Australia, France, Hawaii, Japan and reigning ISA team champions USA still have all 12 surfers in the event, while Portugal, Costa Rica, Peru, Brazil and Spain have 11 and Great Britain is marginally ahead of South Africa with 10.

Due to the large swell predicted for today, the organisers will only be using one podium where the boys’ heats will be run. Koby Oberholzer will be the first South African in action in the U16 Boys Round 2, followed Adin Masencamp and Bevan Willis in the do-or-die U18 Boys Repercharge Round 2, and then Angelo Faulkner in a similar position in U16 Boys Repercharge Round 2.

Surfline, the official forecaster, is calling for a strong Northwest swell to fill in on Wednesday with well overhead surf. This strong swell will slowly fade over the remainder of the contest period, providing solid waves for the competition.

The action at the VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship can be watched LIVE at starting at approximately 11am SA time daily. The latest news, results, photographs and video footage are also available on the website.

Daily media releases:
Surfing South Africa Facebook page:
SA Junior Surfing Team Facebook page:

Surfing South Africa is the recognized governing body for the sport and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA). All South African surfing teams that participate in international events are chosen by the National Selectors and in terms of the SSA Constitution. All national teams are ratified by the Board of Directors of Surfing South Africa prior to being forwarded to SASCOC for colours approval

For further information contact:
Robin de Kock – General Manager – Surfing South Africa – –  0824541149