Adin Masencamp and Sarah Baum Announced as Event Wildcards

JEFFREYS BAY, Eastern Cape, South Africa (Thursday, July 6, 2022) – In one week, the world’s best surfers will return to the famed right-hand point break of Jeffreys Bay for the Corona Open J-Bay, Stop No. 9 on the World Surf League (WSL) 2023 Championship Tour (CT). As the second-to-last stop of the regular CT season, before the Rip Curl WSL Finals, this competition will be pivotal in the World Title race. The Corona Open J-Bay holds a competition window from Thursday, July 13, through Saturday, July 22, 2023.

World Champions Carissa Moore (HAW) and Tyler Wright (AUS) have clinched their spots in the WSL Final 5, leaving only three women’s spots open. All of the men’s WSL Final 5 spots remain unclaimed but that could quickly change in J-Bay. The race to qualify for the Olympic Games Paris 2024 is also tightening. There are 10 men’s and four women’s places still on the line, and the points from J-Bay will be critical in deciding who will represent their country in Tahiti next year. 

Five-time World Champion and current World No. 1, Carissa Moore (HAW), comes to J-Bay with some pressure off her back as she recently clinched a spot in the WSL Final 5. She is now hoping to claim the top spot heading into the Rip Curl WSL Finals. Moore knows what it takes to find success at J-Bay as she won this event in 2019 and finished in third-place last year. 

Lineup during the Opening Round at the Corona Open J-Bay  – Photo by Alan van Gysen/World Surf League

Reigning World Champion Filipe Toledo (BRA) has reclaimed the yellow Leader jersey after former No. 1 Griffin Colapinto (USA) suffered an early exit from competition in Brazil. Toledo had back-to-back wins at J-Bay in 2017 and 2018. His perfect-10 for a double alley-oop during the contest in 2017 was a benchmark moment for performance on Tour. 

Defending event winners Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) and Ethan Ewing(AUS) will be hoping for another win here in South Africa in order to secure their spots in the WSL Final 5. Weston-Webb currently sits just below the Top 5 at No. 6 on the rankings. After his runner-up finish in Brazil, Ewing has moved up to No. 3. If Ewing makes it to the WSL Finals he could become the first Australian man to win a World Title since Mick Fanning in 2013.

Jeffreys Bay, known as J-Bay, is revered as one of the world’s best right-hand pointbreaks. The iconic, endless wave offers barrels, air sections, and room for large maneuvers. The Eastern Cape is known for its world-class waves and breathtaking landscapes, food and dining, and wildlife experiences. A number of surfing greats have dominated this event over the years including Mick Fanning (AUS), Kelly Slater (USA), Andy Irons (HAW), Stephanie Gilmore(AUS), and Lisa Andersen (AUS). 

Corona Open J-Bay – Photo by Alan van Gysen/World Surf League

11-time World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) was absent from Brazil due to an ongoing illness but will return to competition at J-Bay. He is looking for his first event win of the season and it could be here as he has won this event four times. Reigning 8-time World Champion Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) had an early exit in Brazil and slid to No. 6 on the rankings. She needs a solid result here to regain herself in World Title contention. 

South Africa’s Adin Masencamp and Sarah Baum have been confirmed as the men’s and women’s event wildcards as WSL Africa’s highest-ranked surfers on the Challenger Series rankings. Masencamp is currently ranked No. 17 and Baum is No. 8. This will be the first CT appearance for both of them and they will be cheered on by their home crowd.  

Corona Open J-Bay Women’s Opening Round Matchups: 

Heat 1: Molly Picklum (AUS) vs. Caitlin Simmers (USA) vs. Gabriela Bryan (HAW)

Heat 2: Carissa Moore (HAW) vs. Lakey Peterson (USA) vs. Sarah Baum (RSA)

Heat 3: Tyler Wright (AUS) vs. Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) vs. Johanne Defay (FRA)

Heat 4: Caroline Marks (USA) vs. Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) vs. Bettylou Sakura Johnson (HAW)

Corona Open J-Bay Men’s Opening Round Matchups: 

Heat 1: Joao Chianca (BRA) vs. Barron Mamiya (HAW) vs. Seth Moniz (HAW)

Heat 2: Ethan Ewing (AUS) vs. Caio Ibelli (BRA) vs. Rio Waida (INA)

Heat 3: Griffin Colapinto (USA) vs. Liam O’Brien (AUS) vs. Kelly Slater (USA)

Heat 4: Filipe Toledo (BRA) vs. Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) vs. Adin Masencamp (RSA)

Heat 5: Yago Dora (BRA) vs. Connor O’Leary (AUS) vs. Ian Gentil (HAW)

Heat 6: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Italo Ferreira (BRA) vs. Callum Robson (AUS)

Heat 7: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Ryan Callinan (AUS) vs. Matthew McGillivray (RSA)

Heat 8: Jack Robinson (AUS) vs. Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA) vs. Jordy Smith (RSA)

90405 USA