SA team for 2016 ISA World Surfing Games

Local Lass Faye Zoetmulder in SA Team for ISA World Surfing Games

The Board of Directors of Surfing South Africa have confirmed the names of the surfers who have been selected to represent South Africa at the 2016 ISA World Surfing Games at Jaco in  Costa Rica from August 6th – 14th.

The six members of the 2016 South African team are Michael February (Kommetjie, Western Cape),Dylan Lightfoot (Jeffrey’s Bay, Eastern Cape), Matthew Mc Gillivray (Jeffrey’s Bay, Eastern Cape), Shane Sykes (Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal), Tanika Hoffman (Hout Bay,Western Cape) and Faye Zoetmulder (Cape St Francis, Eastern Cape).

Johnny Bakker (Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape) will accompany the group as Team Manager.

The 2016 ISA World Surfing Games takes place only a few days after Surfing will find out whether it has been accepted as an Olympic sport and will be included the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo.

Over 30 countries will participate in the ISA World Surfing Games which will determine the ISA World Team champions as well as the Men’s and Women’s individual championship titles.

Surfing South Africa is the recognized governing body for the sport and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA). All South African surfing teams that participate in international events are chosen by the National Selectors and in terms of the SSA Constitution all national teams are ratified by the Board of Directors of Surfing South Africa.

ENDS Compiled by – Robin de Kock – General Manager – Surfing South Africa – – 0824541149