Rotary Club

Rotary Club of Jeffreys Bay Awards Recognise Service to Community

Tracy de Jager was inducted as President of  the Rotary Club of Jeffreys Bay for 2017/18 at the 19th induction ceremony of the Club held at  De Viswijf Restaurant on July 15th.  At the same event, Ivan Beaumont was inducted as Chairman of the Rotary Satellite Club St Francis marking the club’s 6th birthday.

A highlight of this year’s ceremony was the awarding of no less than six Paul Harris Fellows to members of the Kouga community in recognition of their outstanding contribution to their communities and their selfless dedication to service.

The first of these prestigious Rotary awards was presented to Sister Bertha Strydom for her selfless and dedicated service to the Sea Vista and greater Kouga community through her work running the St Francis Community Clinic in Sea Vista and in particular for her work in educating her patients on improved family health, child care and HIV and TB treatment.

Next in line for the award was Rotarian Francis Becker, for her outstanding work in establishing the Nomvula’s Knitters Trust and the resulting contribution to poverty alleviation through job creation and skills development in Sea Vista.

Hilton Thorpe and Trudi Malan were both recognised for their dedication to the fight to save Thyspunt from nuclear development through the Thyspunt Alliance and protecting the interests of the greater Kouga community.

Also honoured was Maryke Pretorius of the Jeffreys Bay Trauma Counselling Centre, whose selfless dedication over the past 11 years to the counselling of those suffering any kind of trauma from rape to home invasions to motor vehicle accidents.

Last, but certainly not least, Community Service awards were conferred upon both Jan Rademeyer and Mias Janse van Rensburg of Jeffreys Bay for their tireless efforts in transporting donated food, water and other emergency supplies to the fire fighting teams and victims during the recent wild fire disaster.

Rotary Club Jeffreys Bay

2017/2018 Chairman of Rotary Satellite Club St Francis, Ivan Beaumont and President of the Rotary Club of Jeffreys Bay, Tracy de Jager are congratulated by past St Francis Chairman, Arthur Baggott

Article & Photo: Lynette Aitken