Full field for SA Masters Surfing Champs

A full field of 144 contestants from eight Districts will be in action at Seal Point from next Thursday to Sunday when the 2016 SA Masters Championships presented by the Cape St Francis Resort takes place.

Seal Point will host the 11th edition of this annual event for the first time and the iconic surf spot will see five World Champions, numerous National, Provincial and District Champions and a host of International, National and Provincial surfers in action over the four days of competition.

The tournament gets under way with an Opening Function at the Cape St Francis Resort at 7pm on Wednesday May 18 and the first rounds of competition start at 8am on Thursday May 19. Al the Semi finals and Finals in the eight divisions will take place on Sunday May 22.

Over the years the SA Masters Surfing Championships has always produced the highest quality surfing and if Seal Point comes up with some special conditions next week there will be some outstanding surfing on to watch.

Current ISA World Champions, Greg Emslie (Buffalo City) and Chris Knutsen (eThekweni), two former ISA World Champions, Andrew Banks and Heather Clark (both Ugu), former World Pro/Am Champion David Malherbe (Buffalo City), fifteen surfers who have represented South Africa in international competition and a host of current and former South African champions will be in action over the four days

Chris Knutsen

Chris Knutsen of eThekweni, five time World Champion : photo : ISA

All seven age group champions from last year’s event in Richards Bay will be representing their respective Districts at this year’s event. The 2015 Champions were Tasha Mentasti from Eden, Manfred Adrio (over 35) from eThekweni, Wayne Monk (over 40) from Buffalo City, Rob Moore – Boyle (over 45) from eThekweni, David Malherbe (over 50) from Buffalo City, Chris Knutsen (over 55) from eThekweni and Dave Fish (over 60) from Buffalo City. Devyn Mattheys of Buffalo City, who won the over 30 Division title in 2014 when this division was last held will be back to defend it this year.

The Buffalo City Team from East London are the defending champions and eight time winners of the Masters Cup which is awarded to the team with the highest total points and they will be going all out for an incredible ninth victory in this unique event which celebrates the competitive longevity of the sport of surfing.

Buffalo City will face tough competition from 2015 runners up eThekweni, hosts Nelson Mandela Bay, Ugu and 2015 hosts uThungulu. The Cape Town Surfriders Team, who were runners up in 2014, have put together a solid group of surfers while Cape Winelands and the Garden Route based Eden District will be bringing full teams to Seal Point and could challenge the front runners.

The 2016 SA Masters Championships will decide eight individual champions and determine the top District team. Each team member’s points will count towards the Masters Cup, which was won by Ugu in 2006 and 2007 and by Buffalo City in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015.

The 2016 South African Masters Championships is presented by the Cape St Francis Resort, supported by Skullcandy and hosted by the Nelson Mandela Surfriders. Red Bull will provide the energy.

Heats and the provisional format are posted on www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za and each day’s results will be available from 8pm on this website.

SA Masters Surfing sponsors

Surfing South Africa
Surfing South Africa is recognised by the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association as the governing body for the sport in South Africa.
SSA is made up of four provinces and eight districts.
SSA coordinates and runs National Surfing Championships, selects National teams, sanctions and presents events on the annual Domestic Surf Tour, and is responsible for the general administration of the sport.